Kåntan Chamoru: Ekgo’

Our practice group listened to the song “Ekgo'” or “Eggu'” by Chamolinian last month, as we were drawn by both the title and the catchy tune. This song is from the perspective of a married woman, talking about everything she must endure from her jealous husband. So just be warned, as the lyrics mention poor treatment of a spouse. The Chamorro lyrics with an English translation and some notes are included in this post. Enjoy!

ChamoruEnglish
Ai na inekgo’ i asagua-huOh my spouse is so jealous
Ai na dinilikaoOh so delicate
Todu ha’ cha’ot-ña, bene’ yan mekkup He is allergic to everything, lipstick and makeup
ya kontodu i paopaoand including the perfume
Annai para bai hånao macho’cho’when I will go to work
Ha chopchop agagå-hu*he sucks my neck
Ti ya-ña modå-hu, he does not like my fashion,
sa’ mampos ma’lak i magagå-hubecause my clothing is too bright
Ai na minakkat esti na kastiguOh, this punishment is so difficult
Agaga’ dinigridu kulang ma’acha matiyuThe bruise is red like it was struck with a hammer
Hu pula’ kadena, tåya båli-ñaI took off my necklace, it had no value
Gi agagå-huon my neck
Ai na pinigan**Oh the burning ember
Kulan ha’ mohon, loklok i hagå-huIt’s as though my blood was boiling
Annai hu baba’ i balakbak-huWhen I opened my bag
Hokkok sinahguan-ñaIt’s contents were gone
Si mahaderu todu ha’ chalapponThe rascal scattered everything
gi uriyan guma’around the house
Ai na minakkat esti na kastiguOh, this punishment is so difficult
Agaga’ dinigridu kulang ma’acha matiyuThe bruise is red like it was struck with a hammer
Annai hu penta i papakes-hu When I painted my fingernails
ilek-ña kulan bruhaHe said it was like I was a witch
Annai hu bokbok pa’lu sehas-huWhen I plucked the rest of my eyeybrows
ilek-ña kulan machengHe said it was like I was a monkey
ilek-ña kulan machengHe said it was like I was a monkey
ilek-ña kulan machengHe said it was like I was a monkey

Notes

*Ha chopchop i agagå-hu: The word chopchop means “to suck” and in this usage, it implies that the husband gives his wife hickies. This is matched with the later phrases, when she says it’s pointless for her to wear her necklace because her neck is already bruised (with hickies, which are red.)

**pinigan: We could not really make out this word, but we thought it to be pinigan, which means a burning ember. We went with this word, since it also matches the imagery of the following line, loklok i hagå-hu. But let me know in the comments if you hear something different!

Leave a comment