Kåntan Chamoru: Maila’ Ta Baila

This song, “Maila’ Ta Baila” by Pacific Cool holds a special place in my heart. When I was just a few months into learning Chamorro, Jay sent me a playlist of Chamorro songs and this was the first on the list. I listened to it four times in a row because I couldn’t stop smiling, being caught by the song’s uplifting energy and romantic lyrics. A couple of years later, one of the former band members – Henry Hofschneider – and a group of Chamorro musicians were kind enough to play this at my party to celebrate finishing grad school. It meant so much to me because of how much I love this song. This song is great for beginners getting started in the language because the lyrics are a blend of English and Chamorro. The Chamorro lyrics and their English translation are included in this post. I hope this song makes you smile 🙂

ChamoruEnglish
Nå’i yu’ ni kannai-mu yan tattiyi yu’Give me your hand and follow me
Bai fanu’i hao ni todu nina’siñå-huI will show you all I can do
Bonitu na dåndan ta bailalayiWe will dance to beautiful music
Gi fi’on-mu ha’ neni na bai gagaige’By your side baby is the only place I’ll be
Maila’ ta bailaCome let’s dance
Ta baila neniWe will dance, baby
Siñienten karinosuA loving feeling
Milak gi aireFlows through the air

Leave a comment