Kåntan Chamoru: Maloffan Hao

If you are in need of a love song about unrequited love in Chamorro, this is a good one to start with. Even though the grammar is a bit squishy in places, there are a lot of repeated phrases that are short and recognizable. A few months back our practice group wrote down Chamorro lyrics and and English translation for this song, but for the version sung by Glenn “Poochie” Paulino. I couldn’t find a version of that song on Youtube that I was able to embed on this post, so I’ve posted here the version sung by Johnny Sablan. Hope you enjoy it!

ChamoruEnglish
Maloffan hao (maloffan hao)You passed by (you passed by)
Ya tåya’ neni nai sinangån-muAnd baby, you didn’t say anything
Pues håfa nai neni malago’-muThen, baby what do you want
Mampos triste yu’ (maloffan hao)I’m so sad (you passed by)
Sa’ ti hu tungo’ naiBecause I don’t know
Kao båsta haoAre you done?
Hu guaiya hao (hu guaiya hao) gi kurason-huI love you (I love you) in my heart
Yanggen konfotme hao na ta påraIf you agree that we will stop
Tåya’ siña hu cho’gue, lao bai hu konfotmeThere’s nothing that I can do, but I will agree
Maloffan hao (maloffan hao) You passed by (you passed by)
Ya tåya’ neni nai sinangån-muAnd baby you didn’t say anything
Hu guaiya hao (hu guaiya hao) gi kurason-huI love you (I love you) in my heart
Neni, mampos un na’triste yu’Baby, you made me so sad
Eståba yu gi bentanå-huI was at my window
Annai maloffan haoWhen you passed by
Lao tåya’ neni sinangån-muBut baby you didn’t say anything
Ni sikera un ayu’us yu’You did not even say goodbye to me
Lao diåhlu neni, bai hu sungon i pinitin kurason-huBut oh well baby, I will endure the pain of my heart
Ya bai konfotme yanggen enao malago’-muAnd I will agree if that is what you want
Neni hongge yu’, ya un hahasso’ ha’ todu i tiempuBaby believe me and always remember
Na bai hu måtai påpa’ gi hilo’ tano’That I will (fall) down dead on this earth
Ya ti u maleffa’ yu’ nu haguAnd I will not forget you
Yanggen konfotme hao na ta påraIf you agree that we will stop
Tåya’ sina hu cho’gue, lao bai hu konfotmeThere’s nothing that I can do, but I will agree
Maloffan hao (maloffan hao)You passed by (you passed by)
Ya tåya’ neni nai sinangån-mu (sinangån-mu*)And baby you didn’t say anything
Hu guaiya hao (hu guaiya hao) gi kurason-huI love you (I love you) in my heart
Hu guaiya hao (hu guaiya hao) gi kurason-huI love you (I love you) in my heart
Hu guaiya hao (hu guaiya hao) gi kurason-huI love you (I love you) in my heart
Maloffan hao!You passed by!

Notes

sinangån-mu: This comes from the word sångan which means “say, said”. It becomes sinangan with the -in- infix, which in this context turns it into a noun meaning “speech” or even “what was said.” Adding the possessive pronoun -mu turns it into “your speech” or “what you said.”

Leave a comment