Kåntan Chamoru: Anatåhån

How many islands in the Mariana Islands have you visited? For most of my life I had only ever visited Guam, but last year I was fortunate to also visit Saipan and Tinian for the first time. I’m not much of a traveler because I prefer staying home, but if I ever get the opportunity to see the rest of the northern islands I will take the chance. Until then, I will enjoy the stories of others 🙂 Here are some Chamorro lyrics and an English translation for the song “Anatåhån” by Kelvin Duenas, which our study group listened to in July. Enjoy!

ChamoruEnglish
Annai manma’udai ham gi Calvo ExpressWhen we rode on Calvo Express
Ai para kåttan, Anatåhån (yeahhh)Oh, to the north, Anatåhån (yeahhh)
Sa’ para bai fanpeska yan manmamaki chibaBecause we were going to fish and shoot goats
Ai gi kattan, ai kåttan Anatåhån (yeahhh)Oh in the north, oh the north, Anatåhan
Ai åntes di bai fanmåttu guatuOh before we arrived there
In sedda’ dångkulun katdumin kacho’We found a big school of tuna
In tåne’ñaihon ham åntes di homhom gi katduminWe were busy for a while in the school of fish before dark
Gi kåttan, Anatåhån (yeahhh)In the north, Anatåhån (yeahhh)
[dåndån][music]
Matula’noche ham gi hilo’ bottiWe were all night on top of the boat
Sigi manestoria ya sigi ham mañålekWe kept telling stories and laughing
In pipino’ ora para u chaddek manana gi hilo’ bottiWe were killing time on top of the boat so that daylight / morning will arrive fast
Ai hunggan gi hilo’ botti, yeahhhhOh yes on top of the boat, yeahhh
Mannunuk ham nai gi BentånaWe got down at Bentåna
Ayu na lugåt di ma fa’na’an-ñaThat place that was named (that)
In feddos hulo’ i didok na okso’We climbed up the steep hill
Anatåhån, ai kåttan, Anatåhån, yeahhhhAnatåhån, oh the north, Anatåhån, yeahhhh
[dåndån][music]
Ya ni ngai’an na bai hu maleffa’And I will never forget
Man bunitu na tåno’ siha i mansankåttan na islaThe northern islands are beautiful lands
Ai gos riku, sa’ bula nai guinahån-ñaOh so rich, because it’s full of wealth
Ti bai maleffa’, ai hunggan ti bai maleffa’, yeahhhhI will not forget, oh yes I will not forget, yeahhhh
Ya ni ngai’an na bai hu maleffa’And I will never forget
Man bunitu na tåno’ siha i mansankåttan na islaThe northern islands are beautiful lands
Ai gos riku, sa’ bula nai guinahan-ñaOh so rich, because it’s full of wealth
Ti bai maleffa’, ai hunggan ti bai maleffa’, yeahhhhI will not forget, oh yes I will not forget, yeahhhh
Ti bai maleffa’, ai hunggan ti bai maleffa’, yeahhhhI will not forget, oh yes I will not forget, yeahhhh
Ti bai maleffa’, ai hunggan ti bai maleffa’, yeahhhhI will not forget, oh yes I will not forget, yeahhhh

Leave a comment