30 Questions and Phrases for Chamorro Language Learners

When we’re getting started in a new language, it is helpful to learn some basic questions and statements that we can use when we are in classes, practice groups, or even just learning from the speakers in our lives. Sentences such as “I am learning to speak Chamorro” or “Can you say that again?” can go a long way, especially at the beginning. In this post I’ve included 30 phrases and questions for language learners. Each sentence has the Chamorro text, Chamorro audio, and English translation. Happy studying!

ChamoruEnglish
Hu é’eyak fumino’ Chamoru.I am learning to speak Chamorro.
Kao siña un fino’ Chamoruyi yu’, pot fabot?Can you please speak to me in Chamorro?
Fino’ Chamoruyi yu’, pot fabot.Speak to me in Chamorro, please.
Håfa kumekilek-ña enao?What does that mean?
Håfa moon gi fino’ Chamoru?What is moon in Chamorro?
Håfa taimanu masångan moon gi fino’ Chamoru?How do they say moon in Chamorro?
Ti hu tungo’.I don’t know (it).
Ti hu tungo’ enao.I don’t know that.
Ti hu tungo’ håfa kumekilek-ña enao.I don’t know what that means.
Håfa kumekilek-ña pulan?What does pulan mean?
Pot fabot, kao siña un sångan ta’lo?Please, can you say it again?
Kao siña un sangåni yu’ ta’lo?Can you tell me again?
Mås dispåsiu, pot fabot.Slower, please.
Håfa ilélek-ña?What is she/he saying?
Dispensa yu’, håfa ilek-mu?I am sorry, what did you say?
Dispensa yu’, ti hu hungok hao.I am sorry, I did not hear you.
Ti hu hungok håfa ilek-ña.I didn’t hear what she/he said.
Kao siña hao fumino’ Chamoru?Can you speak Chamorro?
Hunggan, siña yu’ fumino’ Chamoru, lao didide’ ha’.Yes, I can speak Chamorro, but just a little bit.
Guaha finaisen-hu.I have a question.
Kao siña un ayuda yu’?Can you help me?
Ayuda yu’, pot fabot.Help me, please.
Håfa kumekilek-mu?What are you trying to say?
Nihi ta ákuentos gi fino’ Chamoru!Let us (2) talk to each other in Chamorro!
Nihi ta fanákuentos gi fino’ Chamoru!Let us (3+) talk to each other in Chamorro!
Si Yu’os Ma’åseThank-you
Si Yu’os Ma’åse nu i ayudu-mu.Thank-you for your help.
Ti hu komprende.I didn’t understand (it).
Ti hu komprende enao.I didn’t understand that.
Kao siña un sangåni yu’ gi fino’ Chamoru?Can you tell me in Chamorro?
Kao siña un sångan gi fino’ Ingles?Can you say it in English?

Leave a comment